40 Years of BBC Young Musician

Prom 3 showcases four decades of the BBC's celebrated televised competition

40 Years of BBC Young Musician
BBC Young Musician

Winning line-up: (from left) pianist Martin James Bartlett (2014 winner), clarinettist Emma Johnson (1984 winner), oboist Nicholas Daniel (1980 winner) and cellist Laura van der Heijden (2012 winner), as photographed for the May 2018 issue of BBC Music Magazine.


What's on at the Proms tonight?


Prom 3: Sunday 15 July 2018

Ben Foster Fantasia on the Young Musician Theme

Steve Reich Drumming - Part 1

Giovanni Sollima Violoncelles, vibrez!

Iain Farrington Gershwinicity

Camille Saint‐Saëns The Carnival of the Animals

Iain Farrington Carnival of the Animals

David Bruce Sidechaining

Maurice Ravel Tzigane

James MacMillan Britannia

Modest Musorgsky Pictures at an Exhibition

Winners of BBC Young Musician; BBC Concert Orchestra/Andrew Gourlay



We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here