Classical Foundations | Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Classical Foundations | Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Thursday, May 28, 2020 - 19:30

Beethoven’s Overture to his incidental music The Ruins of Athens opens the evening with a portrait ideal of the old world, sublimely represented in classical style. 2018 Hastings International Piano Concerto Competition Winner Roman Kosyakov provides a thrilling interpretation to Brahms’s Piano Concerto No 2, an extraordinary and colossal work blends intense drama with a lightness of feeling in the exchanges between soloist and orchestra.

Written when the composer was barely seventeen years old, Bizet’s Symphony in C major demonstrates the extraordinary prowess of a youth who had yet to make a name for himself. Inspired heavily by his teacher Gounod, there is the versatility of expression demonstrated in the lyricism of the Adagio and the breathless tempo of the final Allegro Vivo.

This concert is kindly supported by the Fairlight Arts Trust.

Overture from Die Ruinen von Athen, 'The Ruins of Athens'
Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No 2 in B flat
Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
Symphony in C, 'Roma'
Georges Bizet (1838-1875)


Cadogan Hall
5 Sloane Terrace
London SW1X 9DQ
United Kingdom
Event Information Box
£40, £32.50, £25, £15 Available from 020 7730 4500 .
Venue URI:
Purchase URI:
We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here