Henleaze Concert Society | Schubert and Vaughan Williams's Piano Quintets

Henleaze Concert Society | Schubert and Vaughan Williams's Piano Quintets

Saturday, January 19, 2019 - 19:30

Piano quintets feature in this first concert of the new year with Schubert's enduringly popular and elegant Trout, paired with Vaughan Williams's Piano Quintet in C minor.

Vaughan Williams's early chamber work uses the same rich instrumentation (piano with violin, viola, cello and double bass) and is expansive and Brahmsian in its first movement harmonies, but the style and traits of this most English of composers is unmistakable in the second movement. Ursula Vaughan Williams donated the score of the work to the British Library with an embargo on performance, which remained in place until the 1990s.

Quintet for piano and strings in A, 'Die Forelle' (Trout)
Franz Schubert (1797-1828)
Piano Quintet in C minor
Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872-1958)


Trinity-Henleaze United Reformed Church
Waterford Road, Henleaze
Bristol BS9 4BT
United Kingdom
Event Information Box
£16.50, £5 students/under 18s; £13.50 for Henleaze Concert Society members; £75 annual season ticket Available from 0117 923 0164 9am to 5.30pm, Monday to Saturday.
Purchase URI: 
We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here