Ives, Gershwin, Copland and Joplin | London Philharmonic Orchestra

Ives, Gershwin, Copland and Joplin | London Philharmonic Orchestra

Friday, February 22, 2013 - 19:30

Exactly 80 years before this concert, American visionary Charles Ives witnessed the first performance of his orchestral triptych Three Places in New England. Inside Ives was stirring a unique brand of American impressionism: the piece recounted feelings floated to him from the rugged and humble beauty of New England landscapes as he walked through them, his wife by his side. A strange, prudent, masterpiece Ives’s work remains – a fascinating contrast to Joplin’s rhythmic Treemonisha Suite and the touching, playful simplicity of Copland’s beautiful Piano Concerto.

Free pre-concert discussion | 6.00pm–6.45pm | Royal Festival Hall
Pianist Garrick Ohlsson shares his views on performing works by Gershwin and Copland.

Part of The Rest is Noise Festival.

Orchestral Set No 1, 'Three Places in New England'
Charles Ives (1874-1954)
Rhapsody in Blue
George Gershwin (1898-1937)
Concerto for Piano
Aaron Copland (1900-1990)
Treemonisha Suite
Scott Joplin (1868-1917)


Royal Festival Hall
Belvedere Road
London SE1 8XX
United Kingdom
51° 30' 12.24" N, 0° 7' 2.8128" W
Event Information Box
£9, £12, £16, £21, £27, £33, £39. Premium seats £65. Concessions half price. Available from London Philharmonic Orchestra Ticket Office: 020 7840 4242. Southbank Centre Ticket Office 0844 847 9920 Monday to Friday: 10am to 5pm.
Venue URI: 
Purchase URI: 
Javascript is required to view this map.