Jakub Hruša conducts Mozart and Beethoven | Philharmonia Orchestra

Jakub Hruša conducts Mozart and Beethoven | Philharmonia Orchestra

Sunday, December 8, 2019 - 15:00

Jakub Hruša brings to life worlds of passion and beauty in masterpieces by Strauss and Beethoven.

Opening the programme, Strauss’s muscular Don Juan, a musical retelling of the Spanish legend of the same name, is a 20-minute orchestral powerhouse of a piece. Powerful brass and stormy strings depict Don Juan’s life of seduction and eventual downfall. Written when Strauss was just 24, it was an instant success and established his reputation across Europe.

By contrast, Beethoven’s fourth symphony has been unjustly overlooked between the bold third and fifth. It features some of the composer’s most attractive melodies, in delicate interplay between light and shade. A brooding opening gives way to a sunny mood that leads into a slow movement so beautiful that Berlioz said it could only have been written by an archangel.

Similarly joyful, Mozart’s Piano Concerto No 22 lies at the heart of the programme, with soloist Martin Helmchen. “The world isn't short of brilliant concert pianists, but Martin Helmchen stands out even in that remarkable crowd,” (Washington Post).

Don Juan
Richard Strauss (1864-1949)
Symphony No 4 in B flat
Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No 22 in E flat
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)


Royal Festival Hall
Belvedere Road
London SE1 8XX
United Kingdom
Event Information Box
£58, £45; £36; £28; £19; £12 Available from 020 7921 3907 Monday to Friday 09:30 - 17:30.
Venue URI: 
Purchase URI: 
We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here