Kenny Broberg performs Rachmaninov | Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Kenny Broberg performs Rachmaninov | Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Friday, September 21, 2018 - 19:30

Light and playful with flecks of nostalgia, Grieg’s Holberg Suite provides a vivacious yet introspective opening to this concert of orchestral staples.

Following this is Rachmaninov’s fiendish Rhapsody on a theme of Paganini, performed by talented pianist Kenny Broberg. This mischievous piece combines playful passages with quieter, more sombre sections, culminating in a dazzling finale.

Concluding the programme is Tchaikovsky’s epic Symphony No 4. Completed in the wake of his catastrophic marriage, which lasted only two months, the work conveys anguish and melancholy yet at times swells with optimism as we are taken on a powerful journey from darkness to light.

Holberg Suite (From Holberg's Time)
Edvard Grieg (1843-1907)
Rhapsody on a theme of Paganini
Sergey Rachmaninov (1873-1943)
Symphony No 4 in F minor
Pyotr Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)


Cheltenham Town Hall
Imperial Square
Cheltenham GL50 1QA
United Kingdom
51° 53' 50.2008" N, 2° 4' 37.4232" W
Event Information Box
centre stalls: £33.50 | front and back stalls, rear gallery and side balconies: £28.50 Available from 0844 576 2210 .
Venue URI:
Purchase URI:
Javascript is required to view this map.
We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here