Messiaen's Quartet for the end of time, Ravel and Debussy

Messiaen's Quartet for the end of time, Ravel and Debussy

Wednesday, January 23, 2019 - 19:45

This concert is a rare opportunity to hear Messiaen's unique masterpiece performed by four master musicians. This is the third visit to Nicholas Yonge Society by both Matt Hunt and Alasdair Beatson who are also well known to Lewes Chamber Music Festival audiences; many of us will remember their spectacular performance of Bartok's Conrasts at the 2016 Festival with the versatile and virtuosic Alina Ibramigova. For this concert they are joined by cellist Louise Hopkins, pupil of Raphael Wallfisch and head of strings at the Guildhall.

This combination of the Ravel Trio with the Messiaen Quartet and the Debussy Rhapsodie performed by these superb artists should make for a memorable concert.

Première rhapsodie, for clarinet and piano
Claude Debussy (1862-1918)
Quatuor pour la fin du temps, 'Quartet for the end of time'
Olivier Messiaen (1908-1992)
Piano Trio in A minor
Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)


South Downs College
Cliffe Building, Mountfield Road
Lewes BN7 2XH
United Kingdom
Event Information Box
£15, 8-25 year olds free, members free Available from 01273 472227 .
Purchase URI:
We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here