Michael Sanderling conducts Sibelius and Brahms | Philharmonia Orchestra

Michael Sanderling conducts Sibelius and Brahms | Philharmonia Orchestra

Sunday, February 23, 2020 - 23:30

Michael Sanderling conducts two key late romantic works: Sibelius’s darkly beautiful Violin Concerto and Brahms’s masterful Fourth Symphony.

Brahms called his Fourth “my sad symphony,” but this modest adjective belies the composer’s emotional range and consummate structural skill. His friend, the critic Eduard Hanslick, put it better: “It is like a dark well; the longer we look into it, the more brightly the stars shine back.” Michael Sanderling is an insightful guide to the subtle joys and rewarding depths of this cornerstone of the symphonic repertoire.

Sibelius began his musical life as a violinist, and brought his first-hand knowledge of the instrument’s capabilities and huge expressive potential to his only concerto. By turns hauntingly beautiful and devilishly virtuosic, the piece makes huge demands on the soloist. Austrian violinist Emanuel Tjeknavorian is more than equal to its challenges - in 2015, aged just 20, he won the prize for best interpretation of this concerto at the International Jean Sibelius Violin Competition.

Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D minor
Jean Sibelius (1865-1957)
Symphony No 4 in E minor
Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)


Royal Festival Hall
Belvedere Road
London SE1 8XX
United Kingdom
Event Information Box
£58, £45, £36, £28, £19, £12 Available from 020 7921 3907 Monday to Friday 09:30 - 17:30.
Venue URI: 
Purchase URI: 
We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here