The Orchestra of Opera North: Highlands of Home

The Orchestra of Opera North: Highlands of Home

Thursday, September 20, 2018 - 19:30

Conductor Garry Walker opens the Kirklees Concert Season with a programme inspired by his homeland. Featuring a melody from Robert Burns and a clever imitation of bagpipes, Malcolm Arnold’s Four Scottish Dances are followed by Debussy’s dramatic Marche écossaise and Mendelssohn’s Symphony No 3, inspired by a twilight visit to the ruins of Holyrood Chapel.

Having closed the 2016-17 season with a stunning performance of Bruch’s Scottish Fantasy, violinist Jack Liebeck returns as soloist on the composer’s first violin concerto, one of the best-loved works in the classical repertoire.

4 Scottish Dances
Sir Malcolm Arnold (1921-2006)
Marche écossaise sur un thème populaire
Claude Debussy (1862-1918)
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No 1 in G minor
Max Bruch (1838-1920)
Symphony No 3 in A minor, 'Scottish'
Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
Fanfare for the Common Man
Aaron Copland (1900-1990)


Huddersfield Town Hall
Ramsden Street
Huddersfield HD1 2TA
United Kingdom
Event Information Box
£13, £15, £20, £27 (concessions available); ages 17 to 29: £4; ages 16 and under: £1 Available from 01484 225755 Monday - Friday: 9am to 5pm.
Purchase URI:
We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here