Orchestra of the Swan: A celebration of New Talent

Orchestra of the Swan: A celebration of New Talent

Wednesday, June 19, 2019 - 14:30

Orchestra of the Swan is delighted to welcome Luke Jones, winner of the Bromsgrove International Musicians’ Competition 2018. Luke will be performing Beethoven Piano Concerto No 1, premiered in 1803 with the composer himself as the soloist. One of the Royal Conservatoire of Birmingham’s rising stars, winner of the Conservatoire Concerto Prize, will also join Orchestra of the Swan and Andrew Griffiths, a dynamic and versatile young conductor with a particular flair for opera and choral music. The concert ends with a short work by Thea Musgrave, who feels it represents either the freshness of youth or the plant life in our world on which we all depend.

Pre-concert talk: 1.30pm
Chris Morley (Music Critic, Birmingham Post), Thea Musgrave, our competition winner and a student from the composition department discuss the challenges and demands faced by young classical composers and soloists today.

Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No 1 in C
Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Thea Musgrave (1928- )


Recital Hall, Royal Birmingham Conservatoire
200 Jennens Road
Birmingham B4 7XR
United Kingdom
Event Information Box
£5-£25 Available from 0121 331 5909 10am to 5pm.
Venue URI: 
Purchase URI: 
We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here