Oxford Chamber Music Society - Coull String Quartet with Mark Bebbington (piano)

Oxford Chamber Music Society - Coull String Quartet with Mark Bebbington (piano)

Sunday, November 25, 2012 - 15:00

The Coull Quartet, in residence at the University of Warwick since 1977, has performed and broadcast extensively throughout the UK, USA and Western Europe and has toured China, the Far East, South America and Australia. It records for Somm, its disc of quartets by Maw and Britten receiving universal acclaim. As well as performing most of the standard quartet repertoire, the quartet often features modern British works in its concerts, including the Venables quintet to be heard in this concert.

Mark Bebbington, after a prize and award winning career at the Royal College of Music, studied in Italy with the legendary Aldo Ciccolini. Acclaimed recordings include, as well as the Venables quintet, concertos by Bax, Ireland, Mathias and the Vaughan Williams’ Fantasia.

Piano Quintet
Ian Venables ()
Piano Sonata
John Ireland (1879-1962)
Quintet for Piano and Strings in A minor
Sir Edward Elgar (1857-1934)


Holywell Music Room
Holywell Street
Oxford OX1 3SW
United Kingdom
51° 45' 17.9856" N, 1° 15' 6.4224" W
Event Information Box
£19. Season Tickets available, please see OCMS website. Young people aged 8 to 25 free on the door, courtesy of the Cavatina Chamber Music Trust. Available from 01865 305305 .
Venue URI: 
Purchase URI: 
Javascript is required to view this map.