Philharmonia Orchestra

Philharmonia Orchestra

Wednesday, January 23, 2019 - 19:45

Finlandia, part of a suite which Sibelius wrote for a pageant in 1900, is a concentrated burst of patriotic feeling. Ravel said that his piano concerto was “written in the same spirit as those of Mozart and Saint-Saëns” with two vivacious outer sections framing a slow movement of still and crystalline beauty. The first of Sibelius’s great cycle of symphonies is a noble and powerful piece from the late 1890s. While influenced by Tchaikovsky, it shows many signs of the composer he was to become.

The Philharmonia Orchestra is Anvil Arts Orchestra in Partnership

Pre-concert talk, 6.30pm, The Forge - to book your free ticket(s), please call the box office on 01256 844244

Jean Sibelius (1865-1957)
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra in G
Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)
Valse triste
Jean Sibelius (1865-1957)
Symphony No 1 in E minor
Jean Sibelius (1865-1957)


The Anvil
Churchill Way
Basingstoke RG21 7QR
United Kingdom
Event Information Box
£41, £37, £30, £23, £15; under 25s and full time students £11 (includes £3 booking fee Available from 01256 844244 .
Venue URI:
Purchase URI:
We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here