Philharmonia Orchestra

Philharmonia Orchestra

Sunday, April 5, 2020 - 19:45

Lili Boulanger’s short orchestral piece, the last she wrote, uses shifting, ambiguous harmonies and subtle orchestration to create an intriguing impression. Tchaikovsky’s piano concerto set the pattern for many future pieces with its dramatic confrontation between heroic soloist and eloquent orchestra. Mussorgsky’s suite of musical pictures includes castles, chicks and catacombs, culminating in the unforgettable grandeur of the great Gate of Kiev.

The Philharmonia Orchestra is Anvil Arts Orchestra in Partnership

Young Artists Recital, 6.30pm | The Forge
To book your free ticket(s), please call the box office on 01256 844244

D'un soir triste
Lili Boulanger (1893-1918)
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No 1 in B flat minor
Pyotr Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)
Pictures at an Exhibition
Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)


The Anvil
Churchill Way
Basingstoke RG21 7QR
United Kingdom
Event Information Box
£42, £38, £31, £24, £16; under 25s and full-time students £11 (includes £3 booking fee) Available from 01256 844244 .
Venue URI:
Purchase URI:
We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here