Postponed: Gusztáv Fenyo (piano) – Beethoven cycle (6/8)

Postponed: Gusztáv Fenyo (piano) – Beethoven cycle (6/8)

Sunday, May 31, 2020 - 15:00

Beethoven’s 32 piano sonatas span virtually his entire adult career and serve, better than any other category of his output, to give an almost complete view of the evolving nature of his creative life.

In celebration of the 250th anniversary of the composer’s birth, Gusztáv Fenyo performs the complete cycle of 32 sonatas in eight recitals spread across 2019 and 2020. The sonatas are presented in chronological order, with the exception of the pair of short, early sonatas, Nos 19 and 20, which are included in Programme 3.

One of Scotland’s leading musicians, Gusztáv Fenyo has been highly praised for his one-composer cycles, beginning in 1990 with two cycles of the Beethoven piano sonatas, at the Queen’s Hall, Edinburgh and the Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama (now Royal Conservatoire of Scotland). He has also performed complete cycles of Beethoven’s violin-piano sonatas, cello-piano sonatas and piano trios, as well as Chopin’s complete solo piano works, Bach’s ‘Well-Tempered Clavier’ and Shostakovich’s 24 Preludes and Fugues

Sonata for Piano No 22 in F
Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Sonata for Piano No 23 in F minor, 'Appassionata'
Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Sonata for Piano No 24 in F sharp major
Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Sonata for Piano No 25 in G major
Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Sonata for Piano No 26 in E flat, 'Les adieux'
Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)


The Cathedral of The Isles
College Street
Millport, Isle of Cumbrae KA28 0HE
United Kingdom
Event Information Box
No Tickets required.
Venue URI:
We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here