Royal Northern Sinfonia

Royal Northern Sinfonia

Friday, November 16, 2018 - 19:30

This concert of French music begins with Debussy’s ground-breaking orchestral prelude, based on a poem by Mallarmé in which a faun sees two beautiful nymphs and savours the exquisite memory whilst drifting in and out of sleep, and Françaix’s virtuosic Wind Quintet, a work that achieved a success beyond the composer’s wildest dreams. Ravel’s Introduction and Allegro illustrates the full expressive range of the harp, almost like a miniature concerto. The concert draws to a close with Saint–Saëns’s seductive Fantaisie for violin and harp and Debussy’s picturesque and atmospheric seascape, La mer.

Pre-concert talk: Two members of Royal Northern Sinfonia will discuss the evening’s programme. The talk will commence on the raked seating at 6.30pm. Tickets cost £3 and include a complimentary drink.

Wind Quintet No 1
Jean Françaix (1912-1997)
Introduction and Allegro, for harp, flute, clarinet and string quartert
Maurice Ravel (1875-1937)
Fantaisie for violin and harp
Camille Saint-Saëns (1835-1921)
La mer
Claude Debussy (1862-1918)
Prélude à l'après-midi d'un faune
Claude Debussy (1862-1918)


King George's Hall
Blackburn BB2 1AA
United Kingdom
Event Information Box
£18 (concessions and discounts on multiple dates available) Available from 01254 582579 Monday to Friday: 9am to 5pm, Saturday: 10am to 3pm.
Venue URI:
Purchase URI:
We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here