Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Royal Philharmonic Orchestra

Saturday, March 10, 2018 - 19:30

This concert opens with the charming Overture to Weber’s opera Euryanthe followed by Martucci’s lush and pensive Notturno. Guaranteed to tug at the heart strings, Martucci’s stand-alone piece is the epitome of Romanticism, with its yearning melodic lines and luxurious orchestration.

Although the name Shostakovich prompts memories of angst-ridden, defiant works, his Piano Concerto No 2 is a gloriously free, wistful creation. Its famous second movement is especially sublime, setting the scene for the cheeky and energetic movement that follows.

Dvorák’s Symphony No 7 perfectly balances dramatic power and irresistible lyricism. With its arresting opening, gorgeous slow movement, dancing Scherzo and thrilling Finale, this is one of the greatest pieces Dvorák ever wrote.

Pre-concert talk 6.30pm - The Hexagon auditorium

Overture from Euryanthe
Carl Maria von Weber (1786-1826)
Giuseppe Martucci (1856-1909)
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No 2 in F
Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)
Symphony No 7 in D minor
Antonín Dvorák (1841-1904)


The Hexagon
Queens Walk
Reading RG1 7UA
United Kingdom
51° 27' 16.8012" N, 0° 58' 39.342" W
Event Information Box
£25.50, £22.50; groups 10+ £12; under 18s £6; schools £6; Classical Membership Scheme £12; subscription packages available Available from 0118 960 6060 .
Venue URI:
Javascript is required to view this map.
We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here