Scottish Chamber Orchestra - The Great C major

Scottish Chamber Orchestra - The Great C major

Thursday, January 10, 2013 - 19:30

Begin 2013 in the company of two brilliant and charismatic young artists. David Afkham’s awards, prizes and plaudits make impressive reading: he has captured the attention of musicians and public alike, and makes his SCO debut with a typically ambitious bill. Schubert’s ‘Great C major’ is not for the faint-hearted; for most of the 19th century it was considered unperformable. Now a firmly established favourite, it remains an epic musical journey.

Franscesco Piemontesi, a pianist as charming as he is formidable, returns to the SCO, in a performance of Mendelssohn's Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No1.

Coriolan Overture
Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No 1 in G minor
Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
Symphony No 9 in C, 'Great'
Franz Schubert (1797-1828)


Queen's Hall
Clerk Street
Edinburgh EH8 9JG
United Kingdom
55° 56' 31.074" N, 3° 10' 55.1244" W
Event Information Box
£10 - £29 Available from 01316682019 10am to 5pm Monday to Saturday (and on concert evenings).
Venue URI:
Purchase URI:
Javascript is required to view this map.