Alexander Shelley conducts Russian masterpieces

Alexander Shelley conducts Russian masterpieces

Wednesday, April 10, 2013 - 19:30

Emerging from a musical family, talented British conductor Alexander Shelley has firmly established himself on the international concert scene and makes a welcome return to the Orchestra for this spectacular programme. The dramatic Romeo and Juliet Fantasy Overture, for many the most perfect expression of the fate of those star-cross’d lovers, is followed by Rachmaninov’s lushly-scored set of variations for piano and orchestra, performed by Peter Jablonski. Scheherazade, a series of musical tales drawn from The Arabian Nights, remains Rimsky-Korsakov’s best-loved work. The scoring is masterly, and its heady mix of sumptuous melody and overwhelming orchestral climaxes has served to maintain the universal popularity of the score.

Romeo and Juliet, fantasy overture
Pyotr Tchaikovsky (1840-1893)
Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini
Sergey Rachmaninov (1873-1943)
Nikolay Rimsky-Korsakov (1844-1908)


Fairfield Concert Hall
Park Lane
Croydon CR9 1DG
United Kingdom
51° 22' 14.1132" N, 0° 5' 48.3792" W
Event Information Box
£31.50, £28.50, £25.50, £22.00, £18.00, £12.00 Available from 020 8688 9291 Monday to Saturday: 11am to 6pm (8pm on performance days). Sunday: 1 hour before performances.
Venue URI:
Purchase URI:
Javascript is required to view this map.
We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here