Jaroslaw Nadrzycki performs Bruch's Violin Concerto No 1 | London Philharmonic

Jaroslaw Nadrzycki performs Bruch's Violin Concerto No 1 | London Philharmonic

Sunday, March 17, 2013 - 15:00

In Max Bruch’s radiant Violin Concerto, it’s a single instrument that captures you – the weave of one violin as it floats, battles and rhapsodises against an orchestral mass that sometimes supports, sometimes cajoles and sometimes contradicts. Sibelius’s Second Symphony, by contrast, sees the orchestra striving as one, discovering a hymn-like tune that it proclaims with inspiring unity and breadth, as if lifting the entire ensemble far beyond the sum of its parts. Opening the concert the Orchestra celebrates the work of John Ireland with his vibrant London Overture. Reminiscent of Elgar's Cockaigne Overture, it evokes sleepy London mornings and the bustling city streets of the day. Mark Fitz-Gerald and the brilliant young Polish violinist Jaroslaw Nadrzycki come to Eastbourne for what promises to be a truly inspiring concert.

A London Overture
John Ireland (1879-1962)
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No 1 in G minor
Max Bruch (1838-1920)
Symphony No 2 in D
Jean Sibelius (1865-1957)


Congress Theatre
Carlisle Road
Eastbourne BN21 4BP
United Kingdom
50° 45' 44.5752" N, 0° 16' 58.2384" E
Event Information Box
£12 - £24 (premium seats £28) Available from 01323 412000 Mon-Sat 10am-8pm, and Sunday if there is a performance.
Venue URI: 
Javascript is required to view this map.
We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here