Philharmonia Orchestra

Philharmonia Orchestra

Thursday, January 24, 2013 - 19:30

Labelled ‘Beethoven’s Tenth’, Brahms's Symphony No.1 certainly upholds the established traditions of his illustrious German predecessor. From the first movement through to the finale, Beethoven’s style has a strong presence and its epical properties rightly earn the symphony its nickname. Violinist Joseph Joachim, another Beethoven enthusiast and favourite of Brahms, is the dedicatee of the second work of the evening’s repertoire, Dvorák’s Violin Concerto. Its captivating melodies reach a high point during the slow movement, the concerto turning poignantly nostalgic before entering into the finale where soloist Akiko Suwanai is offered a virtuosic range of often restless passage-work. Also being performed is Mendelssohn’s Overture to A Midsummer Night’s Dream, a work which was only completed after a 17 year interval.

Overture from A Midsummer Night's Dream
Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847)
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in A minor
Antonín Dvorák (1841-1904)
Symphony No 1 in C minor
Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)


Royal Festival Hall
Belvedere Road
London SE1 8XX
United Kingdom
51° 30' 12.24" N, 0° 7' 2.8128" W
Event Information Box
£38, £29, £23, £18, £14, £11, £8, Premium seats £45, Some concessions available Available from 0800 652 6717 Monday to Friday 9.30am to 5.30pm.
Venue URI:
Purchase URI:
Javascript is required to view this map.
We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here