The Rutland Sinfonia - Elgar and Mozart in Oakham

The Rutland Sinfonia - Elgar and Mozart in Oakham

Saturday, May 10, 2014 - 19:30

Our season finale will begin with a real favourite of English orchestral music: the overture to ‘The Wasps’ by Vaughan Williams. The composer’s trademark folk-related melodies are all here whether they be pastoral vistas of stirring marches and all prefaced by the buzzing of the wasps on the strings!

We then welcome Nick Taylor as our soloist in Mozart’s 23rd Piano Concerto. It is a concerto full of contrasts and wonderful melodies, and was also one of the first to show off the virtuosity of the clarinets.

A season finale wouldn’t be complete without something really special to finish it. To that end we will feature the first symphony by Sir Edward Elgar, the composer most associated with the Rutland Sinfonia. It is a major work and a challenge for any orchestra, but a fitting finale to a great season.

Overture from The Wasps
Ralph Vaughan Williams (1872-1958)
Concerto for Piano and Orchestra No 23 in A
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791)
Symphony No 1 in A flat
Sir Edward Elgar (1857-1934)


Oakham School Chapel Oakham LE15 6DT
United Kingdom
52° 40' 11.9748" N, 0° 43' 38.8632" W
Event Information Box
Tickets on the door £11, (£10 in advance). Concessions on the door £9 (£8 in advance). Under 18s £2. Students in full time education £2 Available from Madeleine Stanley on 01780 752031 .
Venue URI:
Javascript is required to view this map.
We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here