Stravinsky, Prokofiev and Shostakovich | London Philharmonic Orchestra

Stravinsky, Prokofiev and Shostakovich | London Philharmonic Orchestra

Friday, May 17, 2013 - 19:30

Prokofiev’s second Violin Concerto is said to represent the composer’s focus on a ‘new simplicity’, but it’s a warm, heartfelt piece nonetheless as the composer’s long-breathed melodies mingle with moments of haunting stillness and thought. Shostakovich, too, had to alter course with his Sixth Symphony. After the Soviet authorities accepted the masked rebellion of his Fifth, Shostakovich felt compelled to be more honest and open; under the surface of the Sixth – first brooding and then bustling – emerges a grotesque picture of persecution ending in a gallop that portrayed, for one commentator, ‘a brazen display of vulgarity.’

Jeu de Cartes, 'Card Game'
Igor Stravinsky (1882-1971)
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra No 2 in G minor
Sergey Prokofiev (1891-1953)
Symphony No 6 in B minor
Dmitry Shostakovich (1906-1975)


Royal Festival Hall
Belvedere Road
London SE1 8XX
United Kingdom
Event Information Box
£9, £12, £16, £21, £27, £33, £39. Premium seats £65. Concessions half price. Available from London Philharmonic Orchestra Ticket Office: 020 7840 4242. Southbank Centre Ticket Office 0844 847 9920 Monday to Friday: 10am to 5pm.
Venue URI:
Purchase URI:,63,0,0,0
We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here