Vladimir Jurowski conducts Webern, Berg, Martinu and Bartók| London Philharmonic

Vladimir Jurowski conducts Webern, Berg, Martinu and Bartók| London Philharmonic

Saturday, April 27, 2013 - 19:30

Intense darkness pervades these three works from the 1930s. Berg’s operatic masterpiece of human self-destruction Lulu lends its most surging themes to its namesake Suite for soprano and orchestra, which perfectly exposes the composer’s marrying of Serialist technique to unfailing melodic gift. Bartók’s mysteriously scored creation has the feeling of music from another world – at once utterly foreign and beguilingly beautiful. As Martinu saw his native Czechoslovakia threatened in 1938, he created a near-violent expression of courage – in his own words, ‘a current of notes that never ceases for an instant, and by a melody that passionately claims the right to freedom.’

Variations for orchestra
Anton von Webern (1883-1945)
Lulu Suite, for Soprano and Orchestra
Alban Berg (1885-1935)
Double Concerto for 2 String Orchestras, Piano and Timpani
Bohuslav Martinu (1890-1959)
Music for Strings, Percussion and Celesta
Bela Bartók (1881-1945)


Royal Festival Hall
Belvedere Road
London SE1 8XX
United Kingdom
51° 30' 12.24" N, 0° 7' 2.8128" W
Event Information Box
£9, £12, £16, £21, £27, £33, £39. Premium seats £65. Concessions half price. Available from London Philharmonic Orchestra Ticket Office: 020 7840 4242. Southbank Centre Ticket Office 0844 847 9920 Monday to Friday: 10am to 5pm.
Venue URI: 
Purchase URI: 
Javascript is required to view this map.
We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here