Bach • Bryd • Ligeti

Mahan Esfahani performs at Wigmore Hall



'Esfahani marches and dances, sings, swaggers, and prays, with a sensitive balance of delicacy and vigour. He brings intelligence and grace to the Ricercars and a canon from Bach’s Musical Offering, their contrapuntal lines spun with limpid clarity. These eclectic soundscapes are splashed with the exotic colours of Hungarian folk music and the acidulous tunings of mean-tone temperament.’ Kate Bolton


Bach • Byrd • Ligeti
Bach: Musical Offering, BWV1079: Ricercar a 3; Ricercar a 6; Canon a 2 per tonos; Bryd: Clarifica me, Pater I-III; John Come Kiss Me Now, etc; Ligeti: Pasacaglia ungherese; Continuum; Hungarian Rock
Mahan Esfahani (harpsichord)
Wigmore Hall Live WHLive 0066


For a full review of this release, pick up an August issue of BBC Music Magazine

We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here