Beethoven transcribed by Liszt

Symphonies Nos. 4 and 5

May 2015
Yury Martynov


‘Liszt’s keyboard versions of these familiar pieces manage miraculously to preserve not only virtually every note of the originals, but also all the music’s breadth and colours. In conveying those colours so skillfully, Martynov is helped by his voicing of textures and by the clarity of the mid-19th-century Blüthner piano he uses.’ Misha Donat


Beethoven (transcribed by Liszt)

Symphonies Nos. 4 and 5

Yury Martynov (piano)

Zig Zag Territories ZZT356


Read the rest of this review in the May 2015 issue of BBC Music Magazine

We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here