Encores by Rachmaninov, Saint-Saëns, Chopin et al

June 2012

'No trying to fault Wang: her touch takes the breath away' Michael Church

Rachmaninov: Études-tableaux Op. 39, No. 6; Op. 39, No. 4; Élégie Op. 3, No. 1; Étude-tableau Op. 39, No. 5
Scarlatti: Sonata K455
Gluck/Sgambati: Mélodie de Gluck
Albéniz: Triana
Bizet/Horowitz: Carmen Variations
Schubert/Liszt: Gretchen am Spinnrade
Strauss/Cziffra: Tritsch-Tratsch-Polka
Chopin: Valse Op. 64, No. 2
Dukas/Staub: L'Apprenti sorcier
Scriabin: Préludes Op. 11, No. 11; Op. 13, No. 6; Op. 11, No. 12; Étude Op. 8, No. 9; Poème Op. 32, No. 1
Saint-Saëns/Liszt/Horowitz: Danse macabre

Yuja Wang (piano)
DG 479 0052 68:58 mins

Audio clip: from Scarlatti, Sonata K455

For a full review, pick up a copy of the June issue of BBC Music Magazine

We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here