Grieg • Grainger • Nielsen

Grieg: Sonata in A minor for Cello and Piano, Op. 36, Intermezzo in A minor, EG 115, Allegretto from Violin Sonata No. 3, Op. 45, Andante con moto in C minor, EG 116; Grainger: La Scandinavie; Nielsen: Saenk kun dit hoved, du blomst, Op. 21 No. 4

May 2015
Andreas Brantelid, Christian Ihle Hadland, Lars Bjørnkjaer


‘Brantelid plays one of the great Strad cellos, the ‘Boni Hegar,’ which yields sumptuously to his impulsive – occasionally reckless – big-scale vision. Hadland, more familiar as a Radio 3 New Generation artist, matches him in fantasy, subtlety and sheer emotional engagement.’ Helen Wallace


Grieg • Grainger • Nielsen

Grieg: Cello Sonata; Grainger: La Scandinavie (Scandinavian Suite); Nielsen: Saenk kun dit hoved du blomst (Just bow your head, oh flower), Op. 21 No. 4

Andreas Brantelid (cello), Christian Ihle Hadland (piano), Lars Bjørnkjaer (violin)

BIS BIS-2120


Read the rest of this review in the May 2015 issue of BBC Music Magazine

We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here