Breathtaking Shostakovich from Vasily Petrenko

Listen to a clip from the Ninth Symphony here


Symphonies Nos 5 & 9
Royal Liverpool PO/Vasily Petrenko
Naxos 8.572167   78:01 mins

‘The more subversive of these two symphonies [No. 9] draws a truly breathtaking response from Vasily Petrenko and his now world-class Liverpudlians’ David Nice

Audio clip: Shostakovich: Symphony No. 9 – Allegro

A full review plus star ratings will be published in our December 2009 issue


We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here