Dramatic Handel from Alan Curtis

Listen to a clip from the rarely performed Ezio here

Ann Hallenberg, Karina Gauvin, Sonia Prina, Anicio Zorzi Giustiniani, Vito Priante, Marianne Andersen; Il Complesso Barocco/Alan Curtis
Archiv 477 8073   186:49 mins (3 discs)

‘With keenly etched orchestral playing under Alan Curtis, and lucid sound, this is an unusually consistent and dramatically motivated performance.’ George Hall

A full review plus star ratings can be found in our July '09 issue

Audio clip: Handel: Ezio – Overture

Related links:
Shostakovich's daring first opera
Original Mozart from René Jacobs
Matthias Goerne's compelling Schubert cycle
A rare opportunity to hear Argerich play solo

We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here