Heartfelt Janácek from the Emerson Quartet

Listen to a clip from String Quartet No. 1 here

String Quartets Nos 1 & 2
Three Madrigals for Violin and Viola
Emerson Quartet
DG 477 8093   55:26 mins

‘At every stage these are performances that command attention and serve Janáček’s highly personal agenda superbly.’ Jan Smaczny

A full review plus star ratings can be found in our July '09 issue

Audio clip: Janáček: String Quartet No. 1 - Adagio – Con moto

Related links:
Shostakovich's daring first opera
Original Mozart from René Jacobs
Matthias Goerne's compelling Schubert cycle
A rare opportunity to hear Argerich play solo


We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here