Martha Argerich thrills with Schumann

A rare opportunity to hear Argerich play solo

Sonata for solo violin; Violin Sonata No. 1
Violin Sonata; Kinderszenen
Liebesleid; Schön Rosmarin
Gidon Kremer (violin), Martha Argerich (piano)
EMI 693 3992   116:36 mins (2 discs)

‘And above all there is Argerich in Schumann’s Kinderszenen. Since she’s all but given up playing solo works in public, her admirers will want to seize the opportunity of hearing this performance shot through with characteristic spontaneity and a seemingly instinctive response to the music’s kaleidoscopic shifts of mood.’ Misha Donat

A full review plus star ratings will be published in our June '09 issue, on sale on 13 May

Related links:

Matthias Goerne's compelling Schubert cycle

We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here