Romantic Mahler from Järvi

Listen to a clip from 'Blumine' here

Totenfeier; Symphony No. 10 – Adagio; Blumine; Symphony No. 3 –‘What the Wild Flowers Tell Me’ (arr. Britten)
Frankfurt Radio Symphony Orchestra/Paavo Järvi
Virgin 216 5756   60:10 mins

‘The ‘Blumine’ movement has a romantic ache here I haven’t heard in any other performance’ David Nice

A full review plus star ratings will be published in our August 2009 issue

Audio clip: Mahler: Blumine

Related links:
Shostakovich's daring first opera
Original Mozart from René Jacobs
Matthias Goerne's compelling Schubert cycle
A rare opportunity to hear Argerich play solo

We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here