Unusual sonorities from Thomas Larcher

Listen to a clip from his Böse Zellen for piano and orchestra


Madhares: String Quartet No. 3; Böse Zellen; Still
Till Fellner (piano), Kim Kashkashian (viola); Munich Chamber Orchestra/Dennis Russell Davies; Quatuor Diotima

ECM 476 3651 65:43 mins

‘Thomas Larcher has a fabulous ear for unusual sonorities which he fashions into surprisingly logical narratives, yet at pivotal moments employs a more traditional, tonal, almost Romantic expression’ Neil Smith

A full review plus star ratings is published in our September 2010 issue

Audio clip: 'IV' from Böse Zellen

Related links:
Review: Chamber works from Thomas Larcher
Review: Till Fellner performs Beethoven's Fourth and Fifth Concertos
Music Choice: Listen to a clip from Till Fellner's Beethoven Concertos disc

We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here