Heartfelt Janácek from the Emerson Quartet

Listen to a clip from String Quartet No. 1 here

String Quartets Nos 1 & 2
Three Madrigals for Violin and Viola
Emerson Quartet
DG 477 8093   55:26 mins

‘At every stage these are performances that command attention and serve Janáček’s highly personal agenda superbly.’ Jan Smaczny

A full review plus star ratings can be found in our July '09 issue

Audio clip: Janáček: String Quartet No. 1 - Adagio – Con moto

Related links:
Shostakovich's daring first opera
Original Mozart from René Jacobs
Matthias Goerne's compelling Schubert cycle
A rare opportunity to hear Argerich play solo