Breathtaking Shostakovich from Vasily Petrenko

Listen to a clip from the Ninth Symphony here


Symphonies Nos 5 & 9
Royal Liverpool PO/Vasily Petrenko
Naxos 8.572167   78:01 mins

‘The more subversive of these two symphonies [No. 9] draws a truly breathtaking response from Vasily Petrenko and his now world-class Liverpudlians’ David Nice

Audio clip: Shostakovich: Symphony No. 9 – Allegro

A full review plus star ratings will be published in our December 2009 issue