The Rape of Lucretia

April 2013
You do not have flash installed. Please click here to download.

'Britten's score requires a performance of the utmost intensity and cohesion to wholly convince – which, in this edited live performance from the 2011 Aldeburgh Festival, it emphatically gets.' Bayan Northcott

The Rape of Lucretia
Ian Bostridge (ten), Susan Gritton (sop), Christopher Purves (bass), Benjamin Russell (bar), Peter Coleman-Wright (bar), Angelika Kirchschlager (mz), Hilary Summers (c.alto), Claire Booth (sop); Aldeburgh Festival Ensemble/Oliver Knussen

Virgin Classics 602 6722 105:33 mins

Audio clip: from 'My horse! My horse!'

For a full review, pick up a copy of the April issue of BBC Music Magazine