The Symphonies

You do not have flash installed. Please click here to download.

'These are very straightforward but also dynamic and dramatic readings, faithful to Brahms's intentions/ Powerfully conceived, they are rhythmically alert, without an ounce of undue sentiment and never for an instand losing sight of the scores' rock-solid architecture.' Calum MacDonald

Symphonies Nos 1-4
Symphony No. 4 - revised opening
Tragic Overture
Intermezzo Op. 116 No. 4, orch. Klengel
Intermezzo Op. 117 No. 1, orch. Klengel
Haydn Variations
9 Liebeslieder-Walzer, orch. Brahms
Symphony No. 1 - Andante. Original first performance version
Academic Festival Overture
3 Hungarian Dances, orch. Brahms
Gewandhaus Orchestra Leipzig/Riccardo Chailly

Decca 478 5344 233:36mins

Audio clip: from Symphony No. 2, II. Adagio non troppo

For a full review, pick up a copy of the December 2013 issue of BBC Music Magazine