Chopin : 24 Preludes, Epitaph for a Love

Chopin, Gulda/Chopin
Chopin: 24 Preludes; Piano Concerto No. 1 (arr. Balakirev); 4 Ballades; Nocturnes in B, C minor, F sharp minor; Barcarolle in F sharp minor; Waltz in E minor; Gulda/Chopin: Epitaph for a love
Friedrich Gulda (piano)
Catalogue Number:
DG 477 8724
BBC Music Magazine

Friedrich Gulda (1930-2000) was nothing if not extraordinary. The maverick Austrian was revered in classical and jazz playing alike, and remained a law unto himself.

These recordings, dating from 1954 to 1986 and assembled by his son, Paul, are a fitting tribute to his idiosyncratic artistry: immediate, vibrant, original and at times utterly volcanic. 

The 24 Preludes, drawn from two live performances, are a roller-coaster ride, occasionally on the edge of reason – I can’t remember a more manic B flat minor Prelude – yet he shapes the melodic architecture of the more songful preludes with such good sense that you wonder why doesn’t everybody do likewise.

The E minor Concerto is presented in Balakirev’s spiced-up version, which is often rather effective; the 24-year-old Gulda tackles the work with full-blooded passion and poetic instinct, admirably matched by the London Philharmonic and Adrian Boult. 

Disc two opens with live Chopin recordings from various concerts including in Trieste and Buenos Aires; here the effect is more variable. In the Four Ballades, the adrenaline of performance often overrides the music’s more subtle elements; the Third in particular goes at a gallop.

Startling beauties abound in his Nocturnes, though, and the crowning surprise is Gulda’s own Epitaph für eine Liebe, extrapolated from a starting point of Chopin’s C minor Prelude and attentively reconstructed by Paul Gulda from several recordings; here Gulda’s free-range expressive style is his alone (but beware of his singing!).

Paul Gulda’s booklet essay offers an affectionate, insightful introduction to his father: a ‘man of extremes’ indeed. Jessica Duchen


Ireland - Piano Music Volume 3
previous review Article
Chopin: Piano Sonata No.3
next review Article
We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here