Heart’s Content

Peter Bernstein
Peter Bernstein +3
Criss Cross
Catalogue Number:
BBC Music Magazine
Try PETER BERNSTEIN’s Heart’s Content, with Brad Mehldau, Larry Grenadier and Bill Stewart. The band is absolutely top-notch, and it’s put to work on six originals, a standard and a Strayhorn tune, each of which is scoured for fruitful dialogue and a constructive musical result.   Bernstein is an unshowy guitarist: he won’t resort to electric effect or barn-burning tactics, and his fundamentally patient manner draws the listener in, in the conversational way of great post-bop music. Mehldau, away from his own records, is free simply to play excellent piano. He does much the same on the session he shares with PERICO SAMBEAT, Friendship. 
Still Evolved
previous review Article
Let It Shine
next review Article
We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here