Macmillan: Britannia; The Berserking; Into the Ferment

Britannia; The Berserking; Into the Ferment
Martin Roscoe (piano); BBC Philharmonic/James MacMillan
Catalogue Number:
CHAN 10092
BBC Music Magazine
A warm welcome back into the catalogue for James MacMillan’s Piano Concerto The Berserking. This new performance is every bit as exhilarating as the RCA/Peter Donohoe version (now deleted), but MacMillan and pianist Martin Roscoe manage to make the central point about masculine and feminine energies still more cogently. The progression from testosterone-fuelled strutting and stamping to sensuous lyrical calm emerges with clarity and drama. Before that there’s Britannia, a wild Ivesian collage of Celtic and Anglo-Saxon music with a polemical edge. Britannia allows the listener a good deal of leeway when it comes to interpreting MacMillan’s message, but in this performance it’s tremendously enjoyable: crudely funny one minute, hauntingly beautiful or impassioned the next. Into the Ferment, for schools orchestra and professional soloists, is a tone poem about a descent into drunkenness, but with a surprisingly upbeat, humanistic conclusion. As so often with MacMillan the range of styles – from dense, acerbic modernist textures to simple folk-lyricism – is immense, yet the music communicates with the warmth and compelling directness of a Mahler or a Tchaikovsky. Composers who turn to conducting aren’t always successful, but James MacMillan is emerging as a strong, assured interpreter of his own music, and the Chandos recordings do him full justice. Stephen Johnson
Arensky: Symphony No. 1; Variations on a Theme of Tchaikovsky; Cantata on the Tenth Anniversary of the Coronation; Fantasia on Themes by IT Ryabinin; Three Vocal Quartets
previous review Article
Mahler: Symphony No. 6
next review Article
We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here