Shostakovich: Violin Concerto No. 1 in A minor; Cello Concerto No. 1 in E flat; Piano Concerto No. 2 in F

Violin Concerto No. 1 in A minor; Cello Concerto No. 1 in E flat; Piano Concerto No. 2 in F
David Oistrakh (violin), Natalya Shakhovskaya (cello), Peter Donohoe (piano); Philharmonia Orchestra, Moscow RSO/Gennadi Rozhdestvensky, BBC SO/Maxim Shostakovich
Carlton BBC Radio Classics
Catalogue Number:
15656 91702 ADD
BBC Music Magazine
This is a worthy memorial to the dedicatee of Shostakovich’s First Violin Concerto. In the opening phrases, Oistrakh reminds us that there was no violin to touch his for subtle nuancing of a line; high-octane successors like Vengerov and Mordkovitch, better served by full-bodied studio sound in the second and fourth movement whirlwinds, rarely get as close to the heart of the matter. The First Cello Concerto is a looser performance, with nothing like the same teamwork between soloist and orchestra; though it does give us a chance to hear the astonishingly rich tone of Shakhovskaya, a cellist little known outside Russia, in the slow movement. Donohoe and the composer’s son provide a racy bonus, enjoying the sudden intrusions of a grand or threatening manner into a piece that would otherwise be a straightforward crowd-pleaser. David Nice
Schubert: Violin Sonatas, D574, 384, 385 & 408
previous review Article
Dvorak/Janacek: String Quartet Op. 96 (American); Piano Quintet in A; String Quartet No. 1 (Kreutzer Sonata)
next review Article
We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here