LSO live from the Barbican

In a programme of Sibelius, Beethoven and Turnage

TV & Radio Information
BBC Radio 3
Thursday, February 7, 2013 - 19:30


TurnageThe London Symphony Orchestra, conducted by Martin Handley, present a programme of works from Sibelius, Beethoven and Turnage. The concert opens with Sibelius’s tone poem Oceanides, before the orchestra is joined by pianist Lars Vogt for Beethoven’s Piano Concerto No. 3.

Following a brief interval the orchestra will perform a world premiere of Mark-Anthony Turnage’s Speranza (Hope); an LSO commission that celebrates optimism in a seemingly bleak world.

Speaking about the piece Turnage described how he 'started working on the piece while thinking about the absence of hope [and] wanted to lift people up.'

We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here