Radio 3 Live in Concert: Elgar and Mozart

Live from City Halls in Glasgow

TV & Radio Information
BBC Radio 3
Thursday, September 26, 2013 - 19:30

Donald Runnicles conducts the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra in two repertoire favourites.

The first is Elgar’s Cello concerto with Alisa Weilerstein as soloist.

After the interval the National Youth Choir of Scotland joins the orchestra to embark on Mozart’s masterful Requiem. Tonight’s performance is of the newly completed version of the piece by Robert Levin. This revelationary completion strips away layers of alterations that have shrouded the music for centuries to reveal a new perspective on the great work.

With Miah Persson (soprano), Ruxandra Donose (mezzo-soprano), Jeremy Ovenden (tenor) and Neal Davies (bass).

We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here