Radio 3 Live in Concert: LSO and Chorus in Scriabin, Liszt

Live from the Barbican

TV & Radio Information
BBC Radio 3
Sunday, March 30, 2014 - 19:30

Valery Gergiev launches a concert cycle of Scriabin’s symphonies by conducting London Symphony Orchestra in Symphony No. 1 and The Poem of Ecstasy.

Pianist Denis Matsuev joins the orchestra for Liszt’s second piano concerto: less flashy than its predecessor, but arguably a deeper and more compelling work.

In the interval, there will be an opportunity to hear Matsuev, who was the winner of the 11th International Tchaikovsky Competition, perform solo piano recordings from New York’s Carnegie Hall.

We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here