Radio 3 Live in Concert: Orchestre National de France

Live from the Théâtre du Châtelet, Paris

TV & Radio Information
BBC Radio 3
Thursday, April 17, 2014 - 19:00

Daniele Gatti conducts the Orchestre National de France in two very different Russian symphonies: Stravinsky’s Symphony in C and Tchaikovsky’s Symphony No 5 in E minor.

Stravinsky’s Symphony in C received its first performance in Chicago in 1940. It was an unsettled time for the composer. Aged 57, he had recently emigrated to the USA following the deaths of his wife and daughter from tuberculosis. The piece was infrequently performed during his lifetime but has since been recognised as one of the most brilliant of his mature works.

Despite Tchaikovsky’s initial misgivings about his 1888 Symphony No 5 (after its second performance, he wrote 'I have come to the conclusion that it is a failure'), it is one of the composer’s most enduringly popular works. The rousing main theme, which reappears in all four movements, is a treat for the brass section.

The performance is broadcast live from the Théâtre du Châtelet in Paris and presented by Sara Mohr-Pietsch. 

We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here