What's On

Your essential guide to all the best concerts taking place in the UK and Ireland. Click here to find out how to submit an event.
Search for an Event
Format: 2019-05-24
Format: 2019-05-24
  • 1 June 2019 - 7:30pm
    Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra: The Ghosts of War
    Alëna Baeva, Hannah Schneider, Jessica Duchen, Marios Papadopoulos, Oxford Philharmonic Orchestra
    Oxford Town Hall Oxford OX1 1BX
    United Kingdom

    It's one of the strangest stories in the history of music: could Robert Schumann's lost violin concerto really have been discovered by means of a seance nearly 100 years after the composer's death? Novelist and music journalist Jessica Duchen picks up the story as we hear Schumann's rich and unusual concerto courtesy of Alena Baeva, making her debut with the Orchestra. Before that comes an equally heartfelt elegy by Frederick Septimus Kelly, a Balliol graduate killed in the Great War with his own connection to the Schumann seance. And to finish, one of the great orchestral showpieces of the twentieth century: Bartok's spicy and spectacular Concerto for Orchestra.

    Elegy for strings, 'In memoriam Rupert Brooke'
    Frederick Septimus Kelly (1881-1916)
    Concerto for Violin and Orchestra in D minor
    Robert Schumann (1810-1856)
    Concerto for Orchestra
    Bela Bartók (1881-1945)
  • 1 June 2019 - 7:30pm
    Anglia Rubet: The Quest for English Polyphony in the 15th Century
    Fount and Origin
    St Luke's, Chelsea London SW3 6NH
    United Kingdom

    This programme follows English polyphony from the dawn to the dusk of the 15th century, seeking out a variety of styles from English composers writing and working in different regions during this period. The programme includes both sacred and secular polyphonic treasures, including works by Dunstaple, Roy Henry, Frye, Horwood, Cornysh, Wylkynson, and more.

    The Dissolution of the Monasteries in England between 1536 and 1541 saw the destruction of a great number of English music manuscripts. Much of the English sacred music which survives from the 15th century is therefore transmitted solely in continental sources. There are a few exceptions, such as the wonderful Eton Choirbook, which gives us a tantalising glimpse into the repertory of sacred music which must have circulated in England at this time, most of which is now lost.

    Woefully arrayed
    William Cornysh (1465-1523)
    Albanus roseo retilat
    John Dunstable (c1390-1453)
    Alas, alas
    Walter Frye (fl c1450-1475)
    Me lykyth ever the lenger
    Anonymous ()
    Roy Henry (fl c 1410)
    Salve Regina
    Robert Wilkinson (c1450-1515)
    Il sera pour vous
    Robert Morton (c1430-c1478)
    Ibo michi ad montem
    Leonel Power (c.1375-1445)
    Gaude flore virginali
    William Horwood (c1430-1484)
    O rosa bella
    John Bedyngham (c.1420-c.1460)
    Ave Regina
    Walter Frye (fl c1450-1475)
    Salve Regina
    William Cornysh (Sr) (1430-1502)
  • 31 May 2019 - 7:30pm
    Brahms: Ein deutsches Requiem - Orchestra Rheia /Stephanie Childress (conductor)
    Katya Tsukanova, Lauren Fagan, Orchestra Rheia, Sara Dragan, Stephanie Childress, The Rheia Singers, Theodore Platt
    St Giles, Cripplegate London EC2Y 8DA
    United Kingdom

    Orchestra Rheia is new London-based orchestra, its aim is to provide young, talented, professional instrumentalists and singers with a much-needed performance platform, whilst showcasing the choral symphonic repertoire.

    We are lucky to have with us two hugely-talented young violinists, Katya Tsukanova and Sara Dragan, to perform JS Bach's Concerto for 2 violins and strings, In addition to this, Lauren Fagan, Australia’s representative for Cardiff Singer of the World 2019, and Theodore Platt, recent winner of the Lies Askonas Competition in 2018, will be joining us as the soloists for Brahms’s vocal masterpiece.

    Concerto for 2 violins and strings - version in D minor
    Johann Sebastian Bach (1685-1750)
    Ein deutsches Requiem (A German Requiem)
    Johannes Brahms (1833-1897)
We use cookies to improve your experience of our website. Cookies perform functions like recognising you each time you visit and delivering advertising messages that are relevant to you. Read more here