Royal Philharmonic Society Awards

Shortlist announced


The shortlist for the annual Royal Philharmonic Society (RPS) Awards has been announced and includes such leading figures from the classical world as conductor Donald Runnicles (above), pianist Benjamin Grosvenor and violinist Christian Tetzlaff.The annual awards recognise excellence in live classical music and are decided by an independent jury from the music industry.


Claudio Abbado, Gianandrea Noseda and Donald Runnicles have all been shortlisted for the conductor award – supported by BBC Music Magazine. The instrumentalist category shortlist features pianists Marc-André Hamelin and Maurizio Pollini as well as Christian Tetzlaff, while the singer award has four performers on the shortlist – mezzo-soprano Michelle Breedt, tenor Toby Spence, soprano Eva-Maria Westbroek and baritone Roderick Williams.

English National Opera’s production of Tchaikovsky’s Eugene Onegin and Covent Garden’s staging of Puccini’s Il Trittico are joined on the opera shortlist by Kommilitonen! by Sir Peter Maxwell Davies. The new opera was premiered at the Royal Academy of Music last year (pictured left).

John Gilhooly, chairman of the RPS said: ‘In the current climate, when the role of culture is being questioned in the face of very real practical considerations, it’s all the more important that we don’t take our rich musical life for granted, but shout loudly about our achievements in the concert hall and well beyond.’

The RPS Awards will be announced in a ceremony presented by Radio 3’s Katie Derham and Petroc Trelawny in the Dorchester Hotel, on 8 May. Choral conductor Gareth Malone will be giving this year’s keynote speech.

Radio 3 will be broadcasting a special RPS Awards programme on Sunday 13 May at 2pm and BBC Music Magazine will be exclusively revealing the winners in our June issue – on sale 9 May. For a full list of shortlisted artists, see below.

RPS Awards shortlist – in full

Audiences and Engagement
BBC Proms: Horrible Histories Prom
Spitalfields Music: Buy One, Donate One

Chamber Music & Song
donated by David W Bowerman CBE
Apartment House
Music in the Round

Chamber-Scale Composition
In memory of Tony Fell
Gary Carpenter: Piano Trio
Martin Butler: Rondes d’Automne
Sally Beamish: Reed Stanzas (String Quartet No.3)
Thomas Adès: The Four Quarters

Concert Series and Festivals
Aldeburgh Festival 2011
Glasgow Music: MINIMAL
Opera Holland Park
RAM: Kohn Foundation Bach Cantata Series

supported by BBC Music Magazine
Claudio Abbado
Gianandrea Noseda
Donald Runnicles

Creative Communication
for a compelling and imaginative vehicle which furthered the understanding of classical music in any medium  
György Ligeti: Of Foreign Lands and Strange Sounds – edited by Louise Duchesneau and Wolfgang Marx (Boydell Press)
BBC Radio 3: Hear and Now 50
K364 – Douglas Gordon
BBC Four and BBC Radio 3: Symphony

donated by the Yellow Car Charitable Trust
Birmingham Contemporary Music Group
National Youth Choir of Scotland
Pavel Haas Quartet

supported by the Musicians Benevolent Fund
Marc-André Hamelin
Maurizio Pollini
Christian Tetzlaff

Large-Scale Composition
Graham Fitkin: Cello Concerto
Harrison Birtwistle: Concerto for Violin and Orchestra
Jonathan Harvey: Messages
Rebecca Saunders: Stasis

Learning and Participation
Cape Farewell/Eden Project: Unplugged – Winning The Clay
Music in Offices
Spitalfields Music: We Are Shadows

Opera and Music Theatre
supported by the Incorporated Society of Musicians
ENO: Eugene Onegin
RAM: Kommilitonen!
ROH: Il Trittico

donated by Rosenblatt Recitals
Michelle Breedt
Toby Spence
Eva-Maria Westbroek
Roderick Williams


Young Artists
donated by Peter Bull
Sophie Bevan
Oliver Coates
Benjamin Grosvenor