Beethoven: Piano Concerto No. 3; Piano Concerto No. 5

COMPOSERS: Beethoven
LABELS: Naxos Historical
WORKS: Piano Concerto No. 3; Piano Concerto No. 5
PERFORMER: Benno Moiseiwitsch (piano); Philharmonia Orchestra/Malcolm Sargent, LPO/George Szell
CATALOGUE NO: 8.110776
Benno Moiseiwitsch (1890-1963), one of Theodor Leschitizky’s many renowned students, plays with uncommon suppleness in these recordings of the Fifth (1938) and Third (1950); this effect is perhaps enhanced by the piano’s recessed balance in relation to the orchestra. This suppleness has implications for figuration, tempo and texture that make Moiseiwitsch’s style sound dated to ears not prepared to enjoy elegant pianism for its own sake.