Kabalevsky: Piano Sonatas Nos 1-3

Our rating 
4.0 out of 5 star rating 4.0

COMPOSERS: Kabalevsky
LABELS: Piano Classics
WORKS: Piano Sonatas Nos 1-3; Four Preludes, Op. 5 etc
PERFORMER: Artur Pizarro (piano)
CATALOGUE NO: Piano Classics PCL0005

Pizarro provides gloriously ripe and deeply felt performances of pieces that deserve to be far better known, even if his beguiling cantabile tends to cushion the music’s Soviet sting. Julian Haylock