Our rating 
5.0 out of 5 star rating 5.0

COMPOSERS: Debussy,Dvorak,Elgar,Encores by Mendelssohn,Schubert,Stravinsky etc,Suk,Szymanowski
LABELS: Virgin
WORKS: Encores by Mendelssohn, Schubert, Elgar, Dvorák, Suk, Szymanowski, Debussy, Stravinsky etc
PERFORMER: Renaud Capuçon (violin),
Jérôme Ducros (piano)
CATALOGUE NO: 374 0872


Renaud Capuçon is the epitome of a modern violinist; whether playing virtuoso concertos, giving solo recitals, enjoying collaborations with his cellist brother Gautier or relishing all-star chamber music performances with the likes of Martha Argerich, he maintains the same exemplary standards of musicianship and technique. I can’t remember listening to a collection of violin encores with such rapt attention since Itzhak Perlman’s classic series of recordings at his mid-1970s peak for EMI. It seems there is nothing Capuçon cannot do. He maintains the same level of tonal purity and lustrousness at all dynamic levels across all four strings and throughout the range, no matter what the technical pressure involved. His phrasing and timing is immaculate, his intonation ear‑ringingly true and – especially important in this repertoire – his exquisitely subtle use of portamento is such as to rival even Kreisler and Heifetz. Devotedly intuitive accompaniments from Jérôme Ducros and luxury engineering round out an exceptional release.